I was a slave of my surroundings the first 18 years of my life.

Kurt Lykke Lindved

Kurt Lykke Lindved

We should all be born with the same basic features, but the onward journey is very different according to the place on the planet we are born.

Why I was born in Denmark; I cannot give a logical, spiritual or scientific answer to this, but in theory and using my imagination, it could actually be anywhere in this world.

Therefore, we are born in an area of the world where culture, laws, language and people have up-built their own lifestyle after the legacy of perhaps thousands of years with a fairly intact pattern in everything we do in life’s daily habits that include education, schooling, religion and common behavior among like-minded country men.

Just like any other newborn individual I’ve obviously been through the “nest’s” many physical and mental exercises before I was 18 years young but now “adult” teenager, who could move from the nest and out in the real life. Such a starting period of 18 years in life’s education, is according to the experts the fundamentally flawed and important period in our lives and the many teachings, manipulations and traditions should maybe continue with religious and cultural norms in the life to come.

The first part of the school doctrine is over - The World is just outside the door.

The first part of the school doctrine is over – The World is just outside the door.

…. And this is where I made my own little evaluation. I had now spent the first 18 years of my life with my parents, siblings, school friends, teachers and surrounded by people from a society that socially was one of the best in the world. My freedom, however, was limited. The Danish heritage had been pumped into my subconscious, which in itself is a kind of brainwashing – a circle which requires both courage and strength to break again after the motto input = output from our unconsciousness.

And what was it I could not be reconciled with during this period – Well, I felt many times that I was a copy of a copy, and that copy version was not a model I could use for anything in my future life . Already at the age of 14 I decided not to be confirmed in the Christian faith – the first break with one of the many prejudices every society has used as a platform and perhaps a “must”, but luckily I lived, after all, in a country where the word “freedom “worked as intended. The next naval battle was a fight between some of my teachers, my school mate’s parents and extremist conservative young politicians.

Freedom of expression was one of the country’s good laws adopted under the new Danish

It might look like a cane - but this is now prohibited in all Danish schools

It might look like a cane – but this is now prohibited in all Danish schools

constitution way back in the year 1865 – but according to my teachers I could poke the law into the shoes until I was an adult – and when I turned 18. However, this was not mentioned in the Constitution – only people who used insulting words could be punished by fine or imprisonment.

And so I felt one lie after another that poured over me from both teachers and other adults who otherwise through the facade seemed quite serious and truthful. I could just accept the “cultural practices” as they were I was told, regardless of the motives that may lie hidden under the man’s demon-like subconscious.

This was the start of my next decision – after my 18 year birthday I was called up for military service, and I applied for a course in the Danish elite corps that can be compared with training in the U.S. ranger corps. I wanted to get a maximum insight into the man’s many layers as an onion is peeled off completely until the core becomes visible. One of my superiors – a captain told me that it was possibility with this particular training with the exception of people who were psychopathic or another form of mental illness.

The moderns' parameter for the poor brain.

The moderns’ parameter for the poor brain.

This military training was first peeled like the onion to the bottom of my own inner core, thence an ability to separate other people according to what they actually contained behind the facade’s strong armor. I was really fascinated by the opportunities available in this, the human traits, mind and either innate or trained skills.

It was not until many years after my military education I realized how much I could use from this training inclusive a task in real life. On my way through life’s puzzling actions I realized that every human being has been under great influence of both the social environment added their basic characteristics from birth. No one has been able to change significantly in the rearing, and the majority of mankind will continue in the track, which is a continuation of the process, from the time of youth.

Sirius, Greenland 1970

Sirius, Greenland 1970

It is possible to break the vicious circle to those who desires for an alternative life or just a better interaction between the body’s many functions, but only if you will break the boundaries, and the famous jungle law, as many have probably been acquainted with before whether young or old, but an attempt to ignore or break the man’s self-esteem.

The break between past habits, rituals and culture during many years perhaps monotonous life I have never regretted. We are many people on this earth, but to live as a sealed envelope among people, who believe that life should be lived backwards instead of forwards is a standstill without a progressive vision of life’s onward journey to the many experiences that lies just outside the front door.

Well, we all get older as time goes on, but as long as I can keep up with an elephant at a slow pace, I will follow it, without previous teachings, traditions, rituals, other people’s foolishness, and everything that inhibits us for freedom’s right to be the person you really are behind the elephant’s thick skin. Freedom of expression exists in most democratic countries – if not, I will still make use of my right as a man to express what I believe no matter what consequences this may have – and should the day ever come, when all people could talk freely without fear of the consequences the world would look different than it is today, where the historic arrow is pointing towards more protectionism than ever seen before.

@K.L.L.

 

About lindvedpress

Professional – Career * Qualified as a Charter Agent in the East Asiatic Company - Became a State Authorized Shipping Broker in 1969 * Captain in The Sirius Patrol – Greenland at Thule Air Base, 1969-1971 * Postings in New York, New Orleans, Toronto, Rio de Janeiro, Lagos and London as Charter Agent and Manager 1972 – 1983 working for The East Asiatic Company Ltd. – Copenhagen * 24 years with The East Asiatic Company Ltd and subsidiary companies as Charter Agent, Marketing and Development Manager; and General Manager * Supplementary courses and examinations in Maritime and Commercial Law Management. * Founder and Owner of Sonata Production, Art and Music International Inc. – France & Denmark 1995 – present - Entertainment, Lectures, Concerts, Exhibition Events, CD, DVD and Video Recordings. Professional – Freelance * Qualified as trumpet player at Aarhus Music School – Denmark * Professional musician with several orchestras and bands – including the Matadors, Saratoga Jazz Band, Rice Wood Jokers and Aarhus Brass Band. * Leader of ”Show and Entertainment Group 28 Carat” and the Evening & Theatre School 28 Carat * Self-taught Artist (painter) Lecturer and Writer * Responsible for several large Theatre and Exhibition Events Worldwide Awards * Dutch Consul, Denmark * Goodwill Ambassador – Various Non-Profit Organizations
This entry was posted in Newsletter, Debates, Information and PR and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I was a slave of my surroundings the first 18 years of my life.

  1. news feed says:

    Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the excellent work!

  2. Hi Kurt,
    Born and raised in Green Bay, WIsconsin, USA our community is conservative. Our culture here lags behind even other states in this union with regards to progress, but as I have returned here after my educational and work excursions beyond Wisconsin boundaries, I have attained a slightly broader context of the world. I draw most of myself and learning from days of old, when solo explorations thru Nature taught me the meaning of beauty, the art of survival and ability to concentrate. The intellectual connectedness is not found in my penmanship, but in my ability to analyze a circumstance from both angles, Nature and human intellectual interaction. Basic principles always apply which make my decision process of understanding, knowingly simple, and sometimes ignorant.
    After a long bought with higher education, I find myself in this slow moving culture, ahead of the curve of acceptance, but also settled in its unpopulated natural beauty. Its here I have found both contentment with the world that is remaining and frustration with the inability to join a local group of intellectual thinkers that understand Nature. The dichotomy that exists is my personal ramification of decisions I’ve made. The futuristic thinking I’ve known well is slowly degrading with my efforts to achieve a monetary level of comfort.
    My 2 cents with no resolution.

  3. It lies within our own powers to use those positions of responsibility to enhance change of our school’s dogmatic curriculum being drilled into our thought behavior processing. We need be free of psychlogical unbalanced minds (caused through childhood damages or other neglected impoverished souls), to live up to our full capacity of our true human nature – which actually to be human kind.

  4. Nancy Seifer says:

    I really enjoyed this article, Kurt — getting to know you better as well as your vision of a better world. Let’s hope that day of freedom comes in the not-too-distant future.

Leave a Reply

